"Are electric scooters legal?" - This is the question asked by most beginners who are new to the PEV community. Electric scooters have become a popular mode of transportation in urban areas, offering an eco-friendly and convenient way to navigate congested streets. However, the laws governing their use can vary significantly from state to state. Each state or city have varying regulations, so it’s best to double-check if your personal electric vehicle is street legal and also check with your city officials for the latest electric scooter laws and regulations for updated information. In this article, we provide a list of key points for your easy reference. Read on to find out the general electric scooter laws and regulations in your state and be a responsible rider!
The electric scooter laws in Alabama will vary depending on the city you’re in. You may even be required to obtain a motorcycle license in certain cities, such as Birmingham. You should contact local law enforcement before riding your e-scooter on the streets to prevent a fine. You must be at least 14 years old to ride an e-scooter. It is also prohibited to ride on bike lanes or sidewalks and wearing a helmet is required.
Electric scooters are classified as motor-driven cycles here, so you will need motorcycle licensing to ride them. The e-scooter should also have a power no more than 750W. For riders under the age of 14 or 15, you are required to have an M2 permit. For those who are 16 and above, you will require either an M1 or M3 permit so long as they have a permit for 6 months prior to being licensed (similarly to getting licensed for cars).
As electric scooters are treated like bicycles in Arizona, they can be ridden in places where a bike can (such as sidewalks) and require no registration or insurance. Riders below the age of 18 are required to put on a helmet. The electric scooter should weigh less than 75 lbs and hit only 20 mph at top speed.
This law states that the electric scooter must weigh less than 100 lbs and have a top speed of 20 mph or less, but riders are not permitted to ride faster than 15 mph. Riders must be at least 16 years old.
Are electric scooters street legal in California? According to California electric scooter laws, you need to have a valid driver's license in order to ride an e-scooter. Electric scooters are not allowed to exceed 15 mph on public roads and prohibited on sidewalks. Helmets are required for those under the age of 18.
Electric scooter riders should obey the same rules of the road as a bicycle. You can ride your e-scooter on streets with speed limits of 30 mph or less. In addition, you may also ride on sidewalks, but only at a speed of 6 mph or less.
Following the same laws as bicycles, you may ride an electric scooter with a speed of 20 mph or less. E-scooters are not allowed on sidewalks. For those under the age of 16, helmets are required.
It is not legal to ride anything with an electric motor on public roads. Helmets must be worn by riders under the age of 16.
As electric scooters are not considered motor vehicles, licenses, registration and insurance are not required. Riders must be at least 16 years old and sidewalk riding is not permitted.
Electric scooters should abide by bicycle laws. It must not exceed a maximum speed of 30 mph and riders must be at least 16 years old. No licensing is required.
The electric scooter must not weigh more than 100 lbs. Riders can operate them on bike paths, lanes and on roads under a 35 mph speed limit. It cannot be ridden on the sidewalk.
You must be over the age of 15 to ride an electric scooter. Wearing a helmet is required under the age of 16. It is important to equip your e-scooter with lights for riding at night. No licensing is required.
Idaho also does not have any specific electric scooter laws by state, but riders can ride their e-scooters on sidewalks and streets and there is no helmet regulation.
Electric scooters shall abide by the same rules of the road as bicycles. If you are under 17, a valid driver's license is required. You also need to ensure your e-scooter has both front and rear lights for safety.
Your electric scooter must not weigh more than 100 lbs and a maximum speed of 20 mph. It should have the same rights and responsibilities as a bicycle. You can ride them in the street and on bike paths, and no insurance or license is required.
As of now, electric scooters share the same regulations applied to bicycles. There is also no requirement for license or insurance. You are allowed to ride with a speed limit of 35 mph or less and ensure proper lighting is equipped on the scooter for visibility at night.
You must have a valid driver's license to ride an electric scooter. There is no need to wear a helmet, but we recommend doing so for your safety. It is also prohibited to ride on sidewalks and highways.
You must be at least 16 years old to ride an electric scooter in Kentucky. Electric scooters are similar to bicycles here and do not require insurance or registration to operate.
You are allowed to ride an electric scooter on sidewalks, bicycle paths and streets with a speed of 25 mph or less. Only one person is allowed on the scooter at a time and helmets must be worn by those under 17 years old.
A license is required to ride an electric scooter in Maine. The speed limit is 20 mph and the wheel must not exceed 10" in diameter and the motor power of the scooter should be less than 750W. When riding at night, a scooter must be equipped with a front white light and a red or amber rear light, as well as reflectors.
Electric scooters should abide by the same laws as bicycles in Maryland. Scooters should not exceed 20 mph.
Other than a speed limit of 20 mph, you need to have a valid car license to ride an e-scooter here.
Electric scooters are classified as the same category as electric skateboards. Your e-scooter cannot have a motor greater than 2000W or max. speed greater than 25 mph. You also need to have a white front light that can be seen from a distance of 500 ft and a rear reflector visible from a distance of 600 ft away.
You need to be over 12 years old to ride an electric scooter and those under 18 need to wear helmets. Your e-scooter must not have wheels over 12" or travel faster than 15 mph in speed. Riding on sidewalks is not allowed.
As of now, Mississippi does not clearly state any specific laws that pertain to motorized scooters.
A driver's license is required, and you can ride the electric scooter on bike paths, lanes and streets. However, if a scooter is to go above 30 mph, it will be regulated as a motorcycle instead (the rules are different).
Electric scooters are also considered motorized bicycles, which prohibits them from being operated on sidewalks and should follow the same rules.
License is not required for electric scooters. Riding on the sidewalk is prohibited.
The weight of the electric scooter must not be more than 100 lbs and must not exceed a max. speed of 20 mph. You must be at least 16 years old.
New Hampshire is another state that does not outline clear laws regarding electric scooters. Be sure to check your local laws for any updated information.
You can ride an e-scooter but not exceed 19 mph. No license is required.
New Mexico electric scooter laws will vary by locality. Please check the specific city laws before riding on the streets.
You must be at least 16 years old to ride an electric scooter. Operating an e-scooter on the sidewalk is prohibited. Do not exceed the 30 mph speed limit and riders under 18 must wear protective headgear.
North Carolina electric scooters are the same as vehicles, which means they require proper licenses and registrations. They can only be ridden on streets with a speed limit of 25 mph or less.
Electric scooter riders are required to stay off sidewalks and bike paths. Riders must wear a helmet if under the age of 18.
Much like many other states, Ohio has regulated electric scooters to not exceed 100 lbs or a max. speed of 20 mph. The e-scooter must not weigh more than 100 lbs. No license or registration is required. You must be at least 16 years old to ride one.
E-scooters are allowed in bike lanes and roads with a 35 mph speed limit.
The rider must be at least 16 years old and not exceed 15 mph. The e-scooter should have motors with no more than 1000W. No riding on sidewalks.
Riding scooters on public roads is illegal in the state of Pennsylvania.
A valid driver's license or municipal ID is required to ride an electric scooter on roadways and bike lanes. Sidewalks are prohibited.
South Carolina is also a state that gives autonomy to each city to implement its own regulations and laws for e-scooters. Please be sure to check before riding on the streets.
They generally follow moped laws, which means riders need the appropriate lights, brakes, mirror, and all the right registration and licensing.
The electric scooter must weigh less than 100 lbs and not exceed the speed of 20 mph. Scooters can not be ridden on sidewalks and must possess front and rear lights or reflectors.
You can ride an electric scooter on roads with max. speed of 35 mph or less and have motor power not exceeding 750W. Electric scooters are exempt from safety inspection, license, registration and insurance requirements.
Utah e-scooters are classified as bikes, which means they can operate in a bike lane. Riders must not exceed 15 mph. Anyone under 15 years old must be under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian.
Scooters and electric bicycles are treated as vehicles and therefore must ride on roadways and not sidewalks.
The exact speed limit will vary from city to city.
E-scooters need to be 100 lbs or less with a max. speed of 20 mph and riders cannot be younger than 14.
All riders must be 16 years old. Scooters should not exceed 15 mph and reflectors must be present for night riding.
West Virginia recently passed a bill that regulates electric bicycles, and we believe similar laws will apply to e-scooters. It also states that e-bikes must follow the same rules of the road as bicycles, and riders under 15 must wear helmets.
Scooters must not exceed a speed of 20 mph or weight of 100 lbs.
E-scooters in Wyoming should follow identical laws such as e-bikes and motorized skateboards and electric skateboards.
Are electric scooters legal? We hope this article gives you a clearer view because understanding and adhering to local electric scooter laws is crucial for safe and legal operation. These guidelines provide an overview of the regulations of the different states as of the date of this article's publication. To ensure compliance and safety, always stay updated with the latest local laws and changes. You can do so by searching for your state's general electric scooter laws and regulations to find more detailed information. Also, learn more about riding an electric scooter safely here.
Remember, being a responsible rider goes beyond just following the rules. Explore our selection of essential electric scooter accessories, including helmets and gloves, to enhance your safety. Equip yourself properly and embrace a secure and enjoyable riding experience!
*Disclaimer: VoroMotors has exerted its best efforts to ensure accuracy in the provided information regarding electric scooter laws in the US and internationally at the time of writing. However, we do not guarantee the accuracy of this information. Individuals using or riding electric scooters should consult local governments and authorities for the most current legal information concerning the use of e-scooters in their region.
Comments will be approved before showing up.
January 27, 2024 7 min read
January 20, 2024 6 min read
January 06, 2024 4 min read